RUCKUS Community Forums are now in READ-ONLY mode while we migrate to a new platform.
You will still be able to read posts and knowledge articles, but will be unable to post new content until Go Live on the new platform Monday August 17.
Lennar Smart Home customers: please contact [email protected] for assistance during the week of August 9-17.
03-22-2024 11:06 AM
When downgrading the switch from 9010 and above to 8095 “ve” related interface commands and L3 configuration would be removed
Issue noticed:
When the user chooses to downgrade from 9010 version and above to 8095 versions in ICX switches, they will notice that the “ve” commands and layer 3 related configurations within the “ve” are wiped out.
Lab output:
If the switch running 9010 version have the below configuration:
!
interface ve 1
ip address 1.1.1.1 255.255.255.0
no spanning-tree
!
interface ve 3
ip address 2.2.2.1 255.255.255.0
no spanning-tree
!
interface ve 5
ip address 3.3.3.1 255.255.255.0
no spanning-tree
!
When the customer would downgrade from 9010 and above to 8095 versions the configuration would be removed and any configurations included within the ve’s would also be removed.
Reason:
This is an expected behavior. The reason why this is noticed is because on 8095 versions, if we would have to configure “ve ” interface we use command “router-interface ve “ve ID””
Example:
device(config)# vlan 2
device(config-vlan-2)# untag ethernet 1 to 4
device(config-vlan-2)# router-interface ve 2
device(config-vlan-2)# interface ve 2
But from 9010 and above versions the “router-interface ve “ve ID”” command is deprecated and when a “vlan” is created a “ve” with same ID as vlan is also created.
Example:
device(config)# vlan 2
device(config-vlan-2)# interface ve 2
Due to the above changes when you upgrade from 8095 version to 9010 version or above you would not see a problem but when you downgrade from 9010 version and above to 8095 you will notice that since the command “router-interface ve “ve ID”” is not appended to the running configuration the “ve” interface would be completely deleted.
It is recommended to save the configuration as a backup when downgraded from 9010 and above to 8095 and have sufficient downtime to revert back the configurations.
03-23-2024 09:24 AM
I've experienced that at a customer site.
