cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No Firmware Update without Support Contract

christian_hartm
New Contributor II
Hi out there.
Im new to the Ruckus so please don't nail me for some Questions.
We are running a Zone director 9.1.2.0 Build.
For the acces points it is 1.0.1.4 - built 12:25:19, Jul 15 2009 ?
The system was installed in 2012.
I started to look for a firmware update after i faced the problem with the Null redirection.
To bring it together:
I have to pay for support to solve a firmware problem for a unit that is not older than 2 years ?
7 REPLIES 7

keith_redfield
Valued Contributor II
Hi Christian,

A support contract gives you quite a few things in addition to software upgrades (not just updates...you'll also get access to our newest features).

- 24x7 technical support
- Advance replacement on your controller
- Optional advance replacement on your APs
- Access to premium content and knowledge-base articles
Learn more at https://support.ruckuswireless.com/pr...

We're running an "amnesty" program right now (through Mar 30 2014) so there are no re-instatement fees and no back-dating. Your contract will begin the day we process your order. And we have great discounts on multi-year renewals as well. See your reseller for details.

-Keith

christian_hartm
New Contributor II
I see, hope they will charge you when you have a software problem with the control unit of your new car. Maybe than you understand what i'm talking about.
Some people call it customers satisfaction.

primoz_marinsek
Valued Contributor
I'm not a Ruckus employee.

I'd say that's pretty standard. You do get 90 days of free support when you buy a product. I think there's really nothing to complain about here, it's just the way vendors do it.

richard_fry_618
New Contributor