cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setup 802.1x on WiFi network using Ruckus Cloud

david_levine
New Contributor III

Hi all,

I am trying to get 802.1x working on our ICX switches and on our WiFi. 

All switches and APs / WiFi networks are managed in Ruckus Cloud.

I have configured a test wireless network for Enterprise AAA (802.1x), and have a RADIUS server setup (Windows 2019 with the NPS role). 

When I try to connect to the WiFi network, I get prompted for my username and password, but I don't get past that, and cannot connect.

I am completely new to this; Is there any testing tool or tips that might help? 

I have added all our APs as RADIUS clients in the NPS server, and have double checked the shared secret.

I have created a basic Network Policy in the NPS server; grant access to domain users, Microsoft PEAP w/ MS-CHAP-v2. Nothing special... just trying to get username/password auth to connect to the WiFi.

When trying to connect from a laptop, I get prompted for username and password, but cannot successfully auth. Pretty much same behavior if trying from a domain joined laptop or a non domain joined laptop.

Any tips are much appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

david_levine
New Contributor III

So, a little embarrassing, but it looks like stuff started working once I set the local Windows firewall on the NPS server to allow all incoming connections. 

This is strange because - when installing / configuring the NPS role - the corresponding allow rules were automatically created (I had double checked that a few times while working through this process). So, maybe there is some port requirement other than UDP 1812, 1645, 1813, 1646... and TCP 135 and RPC Dynamic Ports...

Image_ images_messages_60954a4e131c1e0a9578d940_0899f232ad20d20bcc98a9aba8e70fe8_NPSfirewallrules-f23f1493-5d4b-4a05-9512-f5881d02457f-1987452671.png

Anyone run into this before?

Thanks!

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14

frank_baeyens_7