cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R510 AP and ICX 7150 - APs shutdown and do not power back on

scott_oram
New Contributor III
Here is my setup:
Comporium Zipstream Gigabit fiber main box gets Ethernet from junction box in garage.

The comporium box hands out dhcp addresses and has two built in wifi (2 and 5 GHz) networks enabled.

Lan out of the comporium box goes to the ICX7150 which is connected to two R510s running via POE.  Separate SSID is on the APs

I noticed the AP SSID was dropping, I went to look at the APs and sure enough no lights whatsoever.

So I pulled the plug on the ICX and waited a few minutes and plugged it back in.  

After around 4 minutes the APs come back online, but then after a short time, all the lights go out again and the only thing I can do is pull the plug and power cycle the ICX.

I was able to update unleashed to the 200.6 (latest version I believe).

Beyond what I'm doing I am a bit new to the whole AP \ switch configuration world.

Any ideas as to what is causing this and what my next steps should be?
20 REPLIES 20

matt_pedersen_b
New Contributor II
I recently had a similar issue w/ R510 APs, connected to multiple Brocade ICX 7150 C12P Switches. The problem ended up being related to the "Inline Power" Function. In particular, the "Power Allocation" Levels. 

This Specific Switch Model has 3 Power Classes, each Allocating a Different Wattage.
Class 1 = 4,000 mWatts (4 Watts)
Class 2 = 7,000 mWatts (7 Watts)
Class 3 = 15,400 mWatts (15.4 Watts)