cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R510 AP and ICX 7150 - APs shutdown and do not power back on

scott_oram
New Contributor III
Here is my setup:
Comporium Zipstream Gigabit fiber main box gets Ethernet from junction box in garage.

The comporium box hands out dhcp addresses and has two built in wifi (2 and 5 GHz) networks enabled.

Lan out of the comporium box goes to the ICX7150 which is connected to two R510s running via POE.  Separate SSID is on the APs

I noticed the AP SSID was dropping, I went to look at the APs and sure enough no lights whatsoever.

So I pulled the plug on the ICX and waited a few minutes and plugged it back in.  

After around 4 minutes the APs come back online, but then after a short time, all the lights go out again and the only thing I can do is pull the plug and power cycle the ICX.

I was able to update unleashed to the 200.6 (latest version I believe).

Beyond what I'm doing I am a bit new to the whole AP \ switch configuration world.

Any ideas as to what is causing this and what my next steps should be?
20 REPLIES 20

sunny_gupta
Contributor II
It shouldn't be losing power..  can you try a different Ethernet cable?  could be shorting.  or even a different port on the switch?
when it's up, can you run 'show inline power' to see the power draw and PoE class assigned to the AP-port?
What version of firmware are you running on the ICX?  i think the current recommendation is 8.0.70c which might help.
Can you try some of these and let us know how it goes?  Since they are both going offline (do i have that right?) its not likely a faulty AP.

scott_oram
New Contributor III
Wasn't sure if all ports on the switch handle PoE, I can certainly try that.  Question, does anyone know if the ICX will even hand out DHCP addresses?  Was thinking maybe it is conflicting...

Also on the unleashed app I noticed that the AP detected "Rouge" SSID (which was my comporium wifi with different SSID)