cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mac address not showing up in ARP table

war
New Contributor

Good Everyone,

I am new to Ruckus so maybe I am not looking at this correctly but here it goes  I have 2 Ruckus ICX 7850 stack switches that have physical connections to a Checkpoint Firewall (primary and secondary). I am running VRRP on the firewalls so the ICX switches connect to a virtual IP address.  I can see that both ICX switches is learning  a MAC from the directly connected interfaces

ICX-Stack1#sh mac-addr ethe 1/1/29
Total active entries from port 1/1/29 = 1
MAC-Address Port Type VLAN
001c.7fa5.089c 1/1/29 Dynamic 7  

ICX-Stack2#sh mac-addr ethe 1/1/29
Total active entries from port 1/1/29 = 1
MAC-Address Port Type VLAN
001c.7fa5.0934 1/1/29 Dynamic 7

I find it weird that when I am on FW1 which connects directly to Stack1 that the ARP table doesn't see that MAC address as it is directly connected to FW1

ICX-Stack1#sh arp
Total number of ARP entries: 2
Entries in default routing instance:
No. IP Address MAC Address Type Age Port Status
1 10.1.7.1 None Dynamic 4 mgmt1 Pend
2 10.1.7.36 0050.568f.f3ec Dynamic 0 mgmt1 Valid

But Stack2 sees it 

ICX-Stack2#sh arp
Total number of ARP entries: 3
1 10.1.7.1 001c.7fa5.089c Dynamic 2 mgmt1 Valid
2 10.1.7.2 001c.7fa5.089c Dynamic 1 mgmt1 Valid
3 10.1.7.36 0050.568f.f3ec Dynamic 1 mgmt1 Valid

When I fail over to FW2 both show the same thing

Total number of ARP entries: 2
2 10.1.7.36 0050.568f.f3ec Dynamic 0 mgmt1 Valid

I checked the FW and they are configured the same, also check the ICX switches and they are configured the same so not sure what I am missing here.

Also we are using the management port to get to these switches remotely, not sure why this was configured as I hear that is a bad idea. 

Thank you in advance!!!

Warren

4 REPLIES 4

Chandini
RUCKUS Team Member

Hi War 

Thank you for reaching us