cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ICX 7450 stack with ~100 access switches connected and ~250 VLANs

dawid_krawczak
New Contributor III
Hello to All,
I'm going to design and deploy network infrastructure in huge building based on Brocade ICX switches and other vendor switches (let's say "MS switches"). As I'm new at Brocade, I need to ask for an advice.
The topology will be the star with some redundant links between ICX 7150 (red links in the attached schema).
Core of the network will be the 3-unit stack, consists of ICX 7450-48F switches.
ICX 7150 and "MS switches" (in total, about 100) will act as access switches.
I intend to configure about 250 VLANs on ICX 7450-48F stack, but only a few chosen VLAN IDs will be passed through each trunk port (ranges given in the diagram).
ICX 7450 Stack will be RSTP root with the Root Bridge priority: 4096, ICX 7150 will have Bridge Priority: 16384.
All "MS switches" has RSTP/STP disabled, and only Loop protection enabled.

My questions are:
- Does the ICX 7450 stack handle the calculation of the STP in such large deployment?
- How to properly configure ICX 7450 trunk ports for all "MS Switches" to prevent them from participating in STP topology?
- How to properly configure access ports to prevent from loops on all access switches? Should I use 'stp-bpdu-guard' or 'stp-protect' or something else?
- Should I give up with redundant connections and give up at any kind of STP (clear star topology)?

Image_ images_messages_5f91c3e5135b77e2478d0ad0_d09f18deb51cbbf7a31785bce406fdc8_RackMultipart20180131978218idu-520603a5-83d1-4773-8218-006481856b13-1772462165.jpg1517397707
4 REPLIES 4

dawid_krawczak
New Contributor III
According to the information contained in "RSTP scaling recommendations and best practices" document, my proposal of use of R-PVST+ or even RSTP in not good due to the large number of VLANs configured (~250). The only option seems to be MSTP.