cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Some questions on my network plan before I buy the Ruckus ZD and APs...

peter_w_9h7tcet
Contributor II
Image_ images_messages_5f91c3f2135b77e2478f522e_537c306b880ce7fa0cf3ddbd823a7f22_RackMultipart2020041169931g6ln-61f1ae24-3fa6-44f6-89e6-2f991c6274d4-1319328062.jpg1586594417

Hi there. Please see my attached network plan (sorry this is messy). I have highlighted in pink the components that are already in place (or I already own/have ordered). 

I have no experience with Zone Directors and want to know my plan raises any compatibility issues due to:
  • I am intending to use this with a CISCO small business firewall router (which also provides wifi to my basement)
  • I already have a bunch of Ethernet wired devices running off a CISCO small business 24 port Ethernet switch.
I want to keep these CISCO components if possible as they are the only network components that have proved reliable.

My existing internal APs are currently "Amped" and each have have three 50cm antennae which is the only way they can reach the outdoor wifi IP security cams.  I am replacing them as they are really unreliable and sometimes disconnect WIFI clients.  I intend to go with 4 internal Ruckus Zoneflex APs at first and, if I can't reach my outdoor wifi IP security cams, then I will go to my "Phase 2" plan and add external APs.

Sorry, some other basic questions:

• Would I be better to use some outdoor Ruckus APs inside my house, because the outdoor APs can take external antennae and may be able to reach my external IP cams more effectively.
  • My ZD 1200 comes with 5 free licences which last a year. I understand that if my system is stable I don't need to pay to renew the licence and will just forego updates.  Would this be the case if I buy a 6th licence, or would I be compelled to renew licence 6 each year?.