Did you mean: 

How to set up VLAN with new Ruckus hardware

thomas_engelman
New Contributor III

Hi everyone,

we just built a house and we have the following network components:

• Netgear R7800 router with OpenWRT

• Ruckus ICX7150-C12P switch

• 2x Ruckus R320 APs (one on each level)

I am completely new to Ruckus, VLANs and OpenWRT. My target is to have two VLANs, one for IOT/HomeKit components (we will go with Apple HomeKit for home automation) and the other one for laptops. Both VLANs should be independently from another with the exception of Homekit and Homebridge (I run Homebridge on a QNAP NAS). I also want to be able to limit the internet access for single IOT components for privacy purposes.

In a second step I would like to channel selected components through Wireguard VPN on the router.

What have I done so far:

1. Got the setup working without VLANs etc.

2. Set up the separate Wi-Fis (one for default and one for IOT).

3. I gave the IOT W-Fi the VLAN ID 2 and the default one has 1 by default.

4. I tagged the ports for the APs and the one for the router as tagged in VLAN 2 and left them as untagged in VLAN 1.

This is where the problems starts and I am stuck. VLAN 2 components do not have access to the internet anymore. I already watched a bunch of videos and read through the forum, but I was not able to get it set up properly. It would be great, if you guys could enlighten me some.

Thanks a lot in advance!

15 REPLIES 15

OK, I got the router image installed and "working" - baby steps. Still issues:

1. I cannot log into the switch with ssh anymore. The serial port works well, but is in another room. Would like to log-in via any ssh device again

2. I added the interface that @vijay recommended, but still no internet. I assume still an DHCP issue, as the DHCP server runs on the OpenWRT router. I already added the router as the ip route to the VLAN, so not sure which problem remains.