cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading ICX 7150's to 8090c non-UFI and need to upgrade it to latest firmware. Need some guidance

hailey_glenn
New Contributor III
So I have two ICX 7150 C12P's that were recently upgraded to 8090c (both primary and secondary) from 8070 and 8080 with the regular bin file, not the UFI. I've been advised to use the UFI file for this version and up. We needed them upgraded to work with Smartzone and I was unaware of needing the UFI file.

We've also been advised to go ahead and upgrade it to 08091 as well. Can I upgrade straight to this latest version safely? And, if so, do I also need to use the UFI file when upgrading? (Will this work using the command copy tftp flash 192.x.x.x SPS08091ufi.bin primary?)

FYI, I am new to networking and Ruckus, so I apologize for lack of knowledge in some areas.

Sorry for the bombardment of questions, hopefully this makes sense. If I'm missing any info needed, let me know.

Thanks!
7 REPLIES 7

BenBeck
Hey Hailey, 

You can upgrade directly from 8090c to 8091 with the UFI image. Your syntax is correct. Let me know if you have any additional questions. 
Ben Beck, RCNA, RCNI, Principal Technical Support Engineer
support.ruckuswireless.com/contact-us

hailey_glenn
New Contributor III
Thank you for your reply, I will let you know if I run into any troubles!

netwizz
Contributor III
Yes, that is a proper and supported command from 08.0.80 and higher and will properly install the UFI components.  Typically, I think Ruckus is recommending 08.0.90 builds currently 08.0.90d as their recommendation last I heard for this product family 7150, 7250, 7450, 7750...  I think the 08.0.91 builds is new for a couple specific switches which do not even have an 08.0.90 build offered.

That said, I am aware 08.0.91 has been released and that there is a build that would run on the above switches, but personally I am waiting until at least 08.0.91b except on a test bench or lab.