Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow connections from zf7982

brant_hyatt
New Contributor
Hello,

I'm relatively new to ruckus gear.
We have 30 zf7982s in 3 non-overlapping areas.
The short version is that i'm only getting 11g speeds even when clients connect at 11n (2.4 or 5ghz).

I've taken an ap and restricted it to 11n mode but that didnt make a difference.
I'm using the speedflex testing tool (android) for the bandwidth test.
All wlans are using wpa2-psk, without any bandwidth limiting configured.
Seeing speeds of 40-50mbps.

Thanks for any help!
4 REPLIES 4

john_d
Valued Contributor II
If your devices are 1-stream that you're testing with, then 40-50mbit of observed speed is pretty normal for 2.4GHz and possibly 5GHz if you are limiting to 20MHz channels for high density rollouts. 150mbit/300mbit are theoretical wifi signaling rates, and real-world peak TCP/UDP transfer rates are maybe 50-60% of the signaling rate.

So, can you confirm whether you've got 20 or 40MHz channel widths on 5GHz, and what kind of Android devices are in use (e.g. whether they are 1 stream or 2/3 stream)

michael_brado
Esteemed Contributor II
And confirm that your WLAN is configured with straight 'WPA2' Method (not WPA-Mixed), with 'AES' Algorithm (not Auto)? If you include Auto with TKIP, you will drop
from 802.11n to only 802.11b/g, and limit the overall number of clients supported.

brant_hyatt
New Contributor
Thanks for the responses!
Yes, I am testing with 150mbit devices. And a 300mbit laptop using pcattcp.

I have the width set to auto. The advice we were given was to leave as many settings to "auto" as possible. Should I force it to 40?
And yes, definitely have WPA2 with AES on all wlans.

john_d
Valued Contributor II