cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ZD1200 Solid Green lights but dead - 3 different instances this week

tommy_galuszka
New Contributor II
So I am a tech for a system integration company that primarily uses Ruckus in all of our installs.  I have had 3 calls this week about wifi down and each of them was the same result.  ZD1200 appears to have completely died.  All lights are solid green, even on a fresh reboot (never see the red status light at all even while booting).  None of the units respond to ping, ssh, console...nothing.  I found it very odd the first time I saw it since I have never seen this issue in 15 years of servicing, but to see it 3 times now this week has me very concerned.  Not sure what to do next or even what to tell the clients?  Do I have 3 randomly bricked ZD1200s in a week?
45 REPLIES 45

itdept_head_me
Contributor

They don't want this discussed in public.

all behind the scenes....

it's the flash.

re-flashing re-inits the storage & marks the bad blocks, but it is a fools game.

Eventually like all flash products it will cascade & lead to full failure.

chris_borderit
New Contributor II

Should be easy to prove with one working and one dead?

It should at least boot with a good CF in it? Even if they are locked to the board, which I would doubt.

Have you done any investigation as you have access to units? 

Read the flash and checked for bad blocks? Found any issues?

Swapped flash?

I do agree flash would become a problem, my symptoms don't specifically indicate that.

Monitored CPU activity?

Does the VGA out normally show a boot screen like bios or so before loading OS?

There is normally a beep that sounds like a POST beep, perhaps you can see when that normally occurs on a good unit, with a monitor and or SSH or?

Oh, you said you did some CF research, yet not clear on result of replacing flash and why it failed again.

Curious

chris_borderit
New Contributor II