cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create walled garden on 7055 solo ap.

wes_hall_jazva8
New Contributor II
Hi all,  Please bear with me I'm new to the Ruckus wireless line.   We've recently become owners of a small multi unit residence building using Ruckus 7055 APs.  I'm assuming there is no controller since I've found none on-site at this time.  The present setup does use a homegrown portal login based on their email addresses.  So I'm assuming these are standalone Ap's.  
I'm stuck rebuilding this from scratch since the previous management company left without passwords, documentation, or any contractual requirements.  I'd like to integrate this residence into our present Clearpass portal/802.1x system.  I've gotten most of this to work with a couple exceptions. 

1.  Is there a way to backup the config of the AP. 
--I saw a couple backup options but when I tried to restore after a factory reset the restore failed to set some values.  This would be a timesaver if I screwup the config again.

2.   Is a walled garden/portal setup possible with this model AP?  
--I got it close to working once then lost connection when I changed a setting.  I've never been able to get back that close.  I've tried a couple version of software but I'm not sure which is the best for hotspot.  

3.  How does whitelisting walled garden work?
-- I've whitelisted our dns,dhcp,and portal servers but this doesnt seem to allow traffic to these servers.  At least pings and dns lookups fail, packet captures show no corresponding traffic at the switchports.

3.  On the SSID screen there is an access vlan field.  Is this an actual untagged vlan on the switchport or can I just trunk all vlans to the AP? 
--I'd like to have vlan 1 as management for ap, vlan 2 for portal, vlan 3 for 802.1x, vlan 4 for mac-auth or no auth (I'll deal with this after I get above working).