cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

R710 Indoor Home Use questions & Compatibility with Outdoor units

chuck_patel
New Contributor
Hi all!  I am a relative wifi newb, and am currently completing construction of a new home.  The home is 6500 sf, and I have hardwired 3 APs thoroughout the house.  All TVs and desktops as also hardwired.  I had hooked up 3x Ubiquiti AC Pros - but seems like the configuration aspect of these is a little tricky with no knowledge about this stuff.

I was suggested by someone (who was a huge help) to use 3x unleashed R710s for superior coverage and much easier setup.  He walked me through how to flash them etc - I can handle all of that.

My main issues with the AC pros are - not much coverage right outside the house, and the fact that I cannot (or rather dont know how to) configure signals etc.

Does anyone know if I need to add an outdoor AP - if other ruckus units will work with the R710s?  Also - do you guys think this is the correct application for the R710s?  I am still under the amazon return period for the AC pros, and can source the R710s for about $100 a piece.

Thanks in advance!
5 REPLIES 5

michael_brado
Esteemed Contributor II
That's a bargain for R710s at $100 and they should seriously outperform the AC pros.

If you locate your APs so that you have good coverage areas, they should be able to
get around most walls/windows.  If you have an outside AP, it will try to mesh with the
nearest indoor AP (strongest signal), and having one of your indoor APs near a window
close to the outdoor AP will give you the best link rates.

Unleashed is pretty flexible and manageable and includes mesh feature for indoor/outdoor,
and having 3+ APs means they will negotiate/choose the best client channels for you too.

david_black_594
Contributor III