cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ICX7150-C12P-2X1G - Stacking two of these and connecting - idiots guide please!!

peter_w_9h7tcet
Contributor II
Image_ images_messages_5f91c3f3135b77e2478f7941_765f18893adca1e5e780e2b88d272563_RackMultipart2020042445986lsr7-e4688ecd-f0fb-4dfb-844c-f031738f3bba-31055697.jpg1587715186

Hi there and thanks to those on this Forum who have helped me get this far with my Network Plan.

I was recommended that only four R720 APs should be loaded onto my ICX7150-C12P switch due to power budget constraints, so I decided to order a second one.

The ICX7150-C12P switch has C1 and C2, and X1 and X2 ports on the right.  I see X1 and X2 are used for stacking.

My question is, given my planned set up in pic attached, do I need to connect via X1 and X2 and stack?  What would the advantage be?  Would this enable me to better manage the power budget?

A second absolute beginner's question to PoE switches...what can C1 and C2 be used for in a normal set up?  Can these be used as non-PoE Ethernet ports?  

Finally - am I doing anything stupid with my planned network set up per the diagram?

Many thanks
4 REPLIES 4

marvin_medina
New Contributor III
Hi Peter,

The C1 and C2 ports are used as an uplink ports only. 

If you go the stacking route (X1 and X2) this would mean that you would manage the ICX switches effectively as one logical switch as opposed to the uplink route (C1 and C2 ports) where you would have to manage two individual logical switches. 

Power management is based off the physical switch itself (depending how many POE devices you connect) so stacking would not really have anything to do with managing power between the POE devices except for assigning the power-by-class commands.

Based off your proposed diagram (if this is how you would prefer) then you would not need to use either the stacking nor uplink ports as they all go back to the router which I would assume is your core.

peter_w_9h7tcet