cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Another R650/750/850 Power Issue

BradNC
New Contributor

I'm new to Ruckus and picked up an R650.  I feel like my range/throughput on 5 GHz isn't what it should be.  I've read every thread I can find on R*50 power issues and haven't seen any solutions other than a few people saying that an AC power supply fixed it.  I'm using PoE switches that don't use LLDP negotiation to register with the AP.  I've tried 2.5G POE+ and POE++ and 1G POE+ ports. 

No matter what I do, sitting a few feet from the AP, I'll get download speeds of ~450Mbps and upload speeds over 900Mbps.  I believe there may be a difference in the power mode being reported by the AP and the power mode being actually used.  I believe it's reporting 802.3AT, when it's actually functioning in the reduced power 802.3AF mode.  Here's what I've found so far:

1. The AP is connected to a POE+ or POE++ port that doesn't negotiate LLDP 
2. Left on Auto in the AP group or individual settings, Unleashed will throw a power warning and list the power as 802.3AF @15.4W. In this mode according to Ruckus the 5GHz transmit/receive is only 2/4, the 2nd ethernet port, USB, and IoT are disabled.  Of note, the USB is only disabled in the AF mode and that's also the only mode with 2/4 Tx/Rx for 5 GHz.

R650

Table 5. R650 PoE Modes

LLDP Power Ask2.4G Tx/Rx5G Tx/Rx2.5Gbps Eth(PoE)1Gbps EthUSBIoT
DC 2/24/4EnabledEnabledEnabledEnabled
802.3af 2/22/4EnabledDisabledDisabledDisabled
802.3at25W2/24/4EnabledEnabledEnabledEnabled
PoE Injector (Model 480125A) 2/24/4Enabled (1Gbps speed)EnabledEnabledEnabled