cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configuring ICX 6430-24 for media streaming?

brian_hiatt_529
New Contributor III
Hi Folks,

I'm very new at this, and Ethernet is not in my "day job".  I just got my first managed switch, a used/surplus ICX6430-24.  I used it to upgrade a un-managed 10/100 switch that had been in place for 10+ years and was hoping to enjoy the benefits of manageability and 1Gig speeds.  So far, its just given me headaches.

I've tried to read as much as I can before posting this, but I'm just not well versed in the newer ethernet standards to keep up and understand all of it, so I'm hoping someone here might be able to help.

My 6430-24 is running the ICX64S08030sa code image.

I've got 3 DirecTV devices (HR-24, HR-22, H-23) all connected to this 6430-24 for Multi-Room Viewing (streaming a recorded show off of one receiver over to the other).  When using the 10/100 switch that's been in place for years, everything works fine.  As soon as I swapped in the 6430-24 things went wrong.  Now the Multi-Room viewing is basically unwatchable as I'll get 3 to 5 seconds of picture with audio, then a 30 to 60 second freeze, and then some picture with no audio.  Then it syncs up for about 3 to 5 seconds, and the cycle repeats.

I'm assuming I'm loosing ethernet frames somewhere and that the DirecTV receivers don't ask for re-transmission of the lost frames due to performance reasons.  I'm looking for some help in 6430-24 tuning to see if I can fix this up.  My PC's, DVD Players, X-Box 360, and Wii can all stream Netflix, Amazon Video, and YouTube just fine, so what ever the issue is its just affecting the DirectTV receivers.  

Things I've tried so far (none of which have made a difference)

1. Reset the 6430-24 switch to factory defaults and loaded latest firmware (8.0.30sa)
  2. Locked the ports to 100 Full duplex for the 3 ports connected to the DirectTV Receivers