cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is SmartRoam available in Ruckus Cloud WiFi and how does the AP deal with DHCP leases?

matthew_meirovi
New Contributor
I'm new to Ruckus and working on designing a Cloud WiFi solution. Zone Director has a feature called SmartRoam that disconnects clients when their signal falls below a certain level. Is that feature available in the cloud? My second, related question, has to do with how AP's deal with DHCP when controlled by the cloud. Do the AP's have a DHCP server built in, do they need to rely on an external DHCP server or are DHCP leases somehow controlled in the cloud? I'm interested in how the system will deal with clearing DHCP leases as clients come and go in a high traffic area.
6 REPLIES 6

DarrelRhodes
Valued Contributor
Hi Matthew,

i) SmartRoam+ = we don't have a huge amount of documentation on this feature, however I believe it is an AP-level feature, as it is mentioned on the DataSheet for our latest AP, the R730.  Ruckus Cloud is effectively a huge SmartZone deployment and SmartZone leverages SmartRoam+ technology.  https://www.ruckuswireless.com/rucktionary/client-roaming-and-smartroam

ii) DHCP will need to be on a separate server in your local network.  Ruckus Cloud is only managing the Access Points it isn't providing off-site network services like DHCP, DNS, NAT, Routing, etc.  Also DHCP is a layer 3 service (IP), the APs are Layer 2 (MAC) devices.  That said, sometimes controllers can perform limited Layer 3 functions, such as a basic DHCP server.

I hope that helps,
Darrel.